Willy Moon Announces Debut Album 'Here's Willy Moon' Released 1st April 2013

Willy Moon Announces Debut Album 'Here's Willy Moon' Released 1st April 2013

Willy Moon will release his debut album 'Here's Willy Moon' through Island Records on 1st April 2013.

'Here's Willy Moon' was written, recorded and produced all on his own (with a few tracks being produced by Pulp's Steve Mackey) and he doesn't blend different sounds; he smashes them together. There's no middle ground. It's as if rock'n'roll had been deep-frozen in 1965, just before the Beatles discovered acid, and abruptly reanimated 45 years later by a laptop hip hop producer.

Willy Moon doesn't like to waste time. His debut album, 'Here's Willy Moon', is less than 29 minutes long. Only one of its 12 songs lasts more than three minutes and not a single note is squandered. No bets were hedged during the making of this record. "My album is short like my songs. I always loved the relentlessness and excitement of that first Ramones album and there's something of that spirit in there. I think it will surprise people who've only heard Yeah Yeah, there's some slower, more atmospheric songs on it and one that even last for over three minutes...ha!"

Willy is 23, and whip-smart with a tinder-dry sense of humour. He loves the physical energy of Cab Calloway and Michael Jackson, the concision of the Ramones, and the style of film noir.

Willy's 2011 release, 'I Wanna Be Your Man', was the kind of truly great debut single that makes the listener ask: Who is this person? And where did they come from? In the video he struts and jerks and testifies in a spotlight, over a monstrously metallic Bo Diddley beat. It was quite an introduction and it made him some discerning fans. Jack White released 'Railroad Track' on his Third Man label and invited him to support him on his UK tour. Apple picked up his Wu-Tang-sampling barnburner 'Yeah Yeah' for its latest iPod ad while French director Alex Courtes (White Stripes, U2, Justice) directed the song's thrilling video. Willy spent last summer playing festivals across Europe, including Cannes film festival and recently made his startling debut on BBC2's Later. With Jools Holland.

'Here's Willy Moon' stays true to Willy's love of extreme contrast. 'Railroad Track' is like Kanye West's 'Jesus Walks' rearranged for a 1930s chain gang. 'She Loves Me' crunches Hamburg Beatles into shuddering quasi-dubstep. 'Get Up' is seize-the-day hip-hop blues. The instrumental 'Murder Ballad' sounds like Tom Waits wandering through a haunted car yard. The cover versions make alliances with the weirdos of 50s rock'n'roll: Screamin' Jay Hawkins' 'I Put a Spell on You' and Little Willie John's neurotically horny 'I'm Shakin'' (recently covered by - who else? - Jack White). Then there are the songs that sound like they should be covers but aren't: the blue-collar howl of 'Working for the Company' and industrial Phil Spectorisms of 'My Girl'. It's an unusual record because Willy Moon is an unusual man.

'Here's Willy Moon'
01. Get Up
02. Railroad Track
03. Yeah Yeah
04. What I Want
05. Fire
06. I Wanna Be Your Man
07. Working For The Company
08. Shakin'
09. She Loves Me
10. I Put A Spell On You
11. My Girl
12. Murder Ballad

Deluxe Edition:
13. Shakin' All Over
14. Bang Bang
15. Shakin' (demo)
16. Yeah Yeah (video)
17. She Loves Me (video)
18. I Wanna Be Your Man (video)
Pre-order the deluxe album from iTunes

Ahead of his debut UK tour in March, Willy has sold out his London show at XOYO on March 5th and is excited to announce his next London headline show, his biggest to date, at the Electric Ballroom on May 8th. Due to the extensive demand around the upcoming tour dates, Birmingham, Glasgow and Manchester have been upgraded to bigger venues.

UK Tour
05/03 - XOYO - London (Sold Out)
22/03 - O2 Academy - Birmingham?
23/03 - ABC 2 - Glasgow
25/03 - Deaf Institute - Manchester? (Sold Out)
26/03 - The Haunt - Brighton
08/05 - Electric Ballroom - London