Willie Nelson was honoured with the icon accolade at the Broadcast Music Incentives' (BMI) Country Awards on Tuesday(06Nov07), with stars including Toby Keith, Kris Kristofferson, Emmylou Harris and Keith Urban in attendance to pay tribute to the legend. Nelson was presented with the prize - which is given to artists who have had a "unique and indelible influence on generations of music makers" - at the organisation's 55th annual awards ceremony, which was held at the firm's offices in Nashville, Tennessee. Kristofferson was among the many singers to praise Nelson for his work, hailing him as a star "like no other". He said, "As a performing artist there will never be anyone like him. Like Muhammad Ali, like Johnny Cash, he's become more than the art form that made him famous." Nelson follows in the footsteps of previous BMI Icon honorees Dolly Parton, Whisperin' Bill Anderson, Charlie Daniels and Loretta Lynn. Meanwhile, Jeffery Steele was awarded his second country Songwriter of the Year award, while the song he penned for Rascal Flatts, What Hurts The Most, was named Song of the Year. The late Porter Wagoner was also remembered at the ceremony, with the audience celebrating his life with a standing ovation. Wagoner lost his battle with lung cancer last month (Oct07).