Will Ferrell has been honoured for his comedic ability, winning the annual Mark Twain Prize For American Humour, recognised as the most prestigious American comedy award since its inception back in 1998.
The winner of that first year was the late great Richard Pryor and the succeeding list of names to receive the gong make for similarly impressive reading, including Whoopi Golding in 2001, Steve Martin in 2005 and Bill Cosby in 2009. Now Ferrell can join that pantheon having picked up his award in Washington D.C last night (October 23rd 2011), reports Msn. Ferrell has appeared in a string of acclaimed comedies on the big screen, including 'Zoolander,' 'Old Skool,' 'Anchorman' and 'Talladega Nights,' but it was the American TV show 'Saturday Night Live' where the 44 year-old made his name, joining the cast from 1995 and staying until 2002. His most famous sketch was an impersonation of then-President George W. Bush, something he eventually took to the stage for a one-man show through 2009. Stars including Jack Black, Matthew Broderick, Conan O Brien and Ben Stiller performed at the ceremony in the Kennedy Centre for Performing Arts, and were quick to bring the plaudits, Black stating in typically crude form, "He's crazy funny. He makes you laugh so hard you cry and pee simultaneously". Ex-'Tonight Show' host O'Brien meanwhile said, "Will magnifies and celebrates his flaws, just to entertain us."
Eventually taking to the stage himself, the celebrated comedian joked at turning the prize down 13 times previously, before seriously adding that the Performing Arts Centre was "one of the few places that uphold comedy as what it truly is, an art form."