Oscar favourite Slumdog Millionaire has won three prizes at the annual UK film critics' awards, including best British film.

Danny Boyle was named best British director for his drama about a boy from the Mumbai slums attempting to win the top prize on the Indian version of Who Wants To Be A Millionaire? while Simon Beaufoy took the screenwriter of the year award.

However, the London Film Critics' Circle named The Wrestler the film of the year, with star Mickey Rourke taking the best actor prize.

Kate Winslet added to her brace of Golden Globes by claiming the best actress award, which honoured her roles in both The Reader and Revolutionary Road.

Kristin Scott Thomas was named best British actress - despite speaking in French in I've Loved You So Long - while Michael Fassbender claimed the best actor prize for Hunger.

A depiction of the 1981 hunger strike of IRA prisoner Bobby Sands, the film was named best film at the Evening Standard awards earlier this week and last night saw director Steve McQueen awarded the breakthrough British filmmaker prize.

Dame Judi Dench received The Dilys Powell Award for outstanding contribution to cinema while other winners included David Fincher director of the year), Thomas Turgoose (Young British performance of the year) and Waltz With Bashir (Foreign language film of the year).

The winners at the 29th Critics' Circle Film awards were:Film of the Year
The Wrestler - Darren Aronofsky

Attenborough Film of the Year
Slumdog Millionaire - Danny Boyle

Director of the Year
David Fincher - The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button

British Director of the Year
Danny Boyle - Slumdog Millionaire

Actor of the Year
Mickey Rourke - The Wrestler

Actress of the Year
Kate Winslet - The Reader/Revolutionary Road

British Actor of the Year
Michael Fassbender - Hunger

British Actress of the Year
Kristin Scott-Thomas - I've Loved You So Long

British Actor in a Supporting Role
Eddie Marsan - Happy-Go-Lucky

British Actress in a Supporting Role
Tilda Swinton - The Curious Case Of Benjamin Button

Screenwriter of the Year
Simon Beaufoy - Slumdog Millionaire

The NSPCC Award: Young British Performance of the Year
Thomas Turgoose - Somers Town/Eden Lake

Breakthrough British Film-Maker
Steve McQueen - Hunger

Foreign Language Film of the Year
Waltz With Bashir - Ari Folman

The Dilys Powell Award
Dame Judi Dench

05/02/2009 09:46:10