We Were Promised Jetpacks Announce Scottish Tour For May And June 2012

We Were Promised Jetpacks Announce Scottish Tour For May And June 2012

With thunderous live performances matching the power of fellow Scots Mogwai and a pop sensibility comparable to that of Foals or Bloc Party, it was no surprise that We Were Promised Jetpacks landed the 'Best Live Act' award at the Scottish Alternative Music Awards at the start of the month. And the acclaimed new album 'In The Pit Of The Stomach' proves just what a fully-fledged a rock band WWPJ have become.

Their 2011/12 live campaign kicked off in Europe back in September with label-mates The Twilight Sad and Mazes, a jaunt that was followed with a sold out UK headline and a truly devastating set at Iceland Airwaves. A second UK leg and extensive European and US dates took them right through into February. Amidst all this activity, however, the band have barely touched on their home turf - a situation they are set to rectify with a string of Scottish dates in May:

May & June 2012

23 May Dundee Doghouse

24 May Aberdeen Lemon Tree

25 May Inverness Ironworks

26 May Dunfermline PJ Molloys

31 May Stirling Tolbooth

01 June Coatbridge Soundwave Studios

Ahead of these shows, We Were Promised Jetpacks return to the States in March for SXSW - details to follow shortly - and a second US leg. The band are also currently preparing a live album for summer release.

Armed with the confidence built from their time on the road and firm ideas as to how the new record should sound, 'In The Pit Of The Stomach' is a brilliantly sustained piece of work full of fiery, muscular and hugely atmospheric epics like (lead single) 'Medicine', 'Picture Of Heath' and 'Human Error'. Recorded at Sigur Ros' Sundlaugin Studios in the frozen wilds of Iceland in late 2010, with long-time live sound engineer Andrew Bush at the controls and Peter Katis (Frightened Rabbit, The National) on hand for mixing and additional production duties.

We Were Promised Jetpacks is: Adam Thompson (Guitar/Vocals), Michael Palmer (Guitar), Sean Smith (Bass) and Darren Lackie (Drums)