Singer Wayne Coyne has joined forces with the four members of experimental rock band Linear Downfall to form a new group.

The six-strong side project, named Electric Wurms, also features Coyne's Flaming Lips bandmate Steven Drozd and the new collaborators are set to release their debut album, Musik, Die Schwer Zu Twerk, in August (14).

A quirky statement released by Electric Wurms reads: "They are not a super-group. They are like Sherpas climbing with you. To help you. To love you. They have a message of hope and peace and chaos and violence. All the secrets that they know they tell you. That's what love is."