Vivian Girls Announce New Album 'Share The Joy'

Vivian Girls Announce New Album 'Share The Joy'

Brooklyn's Vivian Girls have announced details of new album 'Share The Joy'. Their third album (and first for new label Polyvinyl) will be released on the 11th April in the UK, 12th April in the US. 'Share The Joy' was recorded at Rear House, the home studio run by Jarvis Taveniere of the Brooklyn combo Woods, who engineered the album.

Vivian Girls are giving away brand new track 'I Heard You Say' as the first taster of the new album.

On 'Share the Joy', Vivian Girls continue to sharpen and refine their transcendent mix of garage thrash, girl-group warmth and infectious pop hooksmanship. The trio's vibrant blend of guitar noise and melodic sweetness has already made Vivian Girls one of America's most celebrated and influential young bands, and has helped to spark a wave of similarly-inclined female-fronted acts who've followed in their wake.

The ten-song album finds the band - namely guitarist/vocalist Cassie Ramone, bassist/vocalist Kickball Katy and new drummer Fiona Campbell - continuing to evolve and expand, building on the D.I.Y. achievements of their 2008 debut 'Vivian Girls' and its 2009 follow-up 'Everything Goes Wrong' while delivering their most memorable songs and most focused performances yet. Their new tunes successfully venture into challenging new musical and lyrical territory, reflecting the band members' developing instrumental rapport and their far-reaching musical influences, while retaining the raw immediacy that originally endeared the group to its fans.

"It's cleaner and more hi-fi than the previous records," Cassie says of the new album. "The sound is more open, more free. I think that this album really shows our strengths as musicians, and shows us melding together musically. It's more psychedelic and less shoegaze. There's also a lot of organ on it, which is new for us."

More details are to follow on their UK shows. In the meantime, Vivian Girls head out on tour in the States with Black Lips, Surfer Blood, Thee Oh Sees and The Strange Boys from February onwards.