Former Moloko member Murphy is nominated for Hairless Toys, which will compete with Villagers' Darling Arithmetic, James' Bitter Pill, Before We Forgot How To Dream by SOAK, and early favourite Girl Band's Holding Hands with Jamie.

Electronic rockers Jape have also made the cut with This Chemical Sea as they aim for their third Choice Music Prize win, the Irish equivalent of Britain's Mercury Music Prize.

HamsandwicH's Stories from the Surface, Le Club by Le Galaxie, Colm MAC Con Iomaire's And Now The Weather, and Young Wonder's Birth round out the list for the best Irish albums of 2015.

The winner of the 10,000 Euro ($11,055/£7,370) award, determined by a 12-person judging panel, will be announced on 3 March (16).

The Gloaming's self-titled debut album took home the accolade for 2014, while previous winners also include The Divine Comedy, Villagers, and Two Door Cinema Club.