The Youth singer, 21, will be saluted at the ceremony in Los Angeles on Saturday (01Apr17) for making "a significant difference in promoting equality and acceptance".

Past recipients of the Stephen F. Kolzak award have included Laverne Cox, Ellen Degeneres, Ruby Rose, Chaz Bono, Melissa Etheridge, and Sir Ian MCKellen.

The GLAAD Media Awards will be held at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles. Mary J. Blige will be presenting GLAAD’s Outstanding Film Award and Patricia Arquette will accept the Vanguard Award and pay tribute to her late transgender sister Alexis Arquette.