The Return Of Travis - New Lp 'Where You Stand' Out August 19th 2013

The Return Of Travis - New Lp 'Where You Stand' Out August 19th 2013

Travis, one of the UK's best known bands, return after a five year hiatus with their seventh album 'Where You Stand', out August 19th on their own re-launched label Red Telephone Box via Kobalt Label Services.

Sounding and looking more invigorated than ever, the Scottish band, with "Super Swede" Michael Ilbert (The Hives/The Cardigans/The Wannadies) on production duties have delivered an album of effortless, melodic pop gems. 

The album kicks into gear immediately with 'Mother' - a bracing rush of harmonic pop with a chiming piano solo. It is soon followed by the nu-wavey guitars and drums of the instantly anthemic 'Moving' and doesn't let up with the charmingly emotive first single and LP title track 'Where You Stand'. This stunning collection of songs is brought to a dramatic conclusion by cinematic piano ballad 'The Big Screen'.

Written and recorded across London, Norway, New York, and taking in a production stint at Berlin's legendary Hansa Studios (as enjoyed particularly by Bowie-fanatic Payne, who revelled in layering famous synthesisers of Low fame onto 'A Different Room'), the band ended up recording the songs on the same sound desk that produced both 'Ok Computer' and their own breakthrough album 'The Man Who'.

"You stay away as long as it takes," says bassist Dougie Payne on the band's well-judged fallow period, "so you feel that hunger and desire to get back to it same as you did at the start." 

With two No.1 LPs, five Top Ten singles, two Brit Awards and more than 8 million record sales Travis crafted songs which resonated throughout UK households, striking an emotional chord with hits such as 'Turn', 'Why Does It Always Rain On Me' and 'Sing'. 'Where You Stand' is the follow-up to their 2008 album 'Ode to J. Smith'.

Travis are singer/guitarist Fran Healy, bassist Dougie Payne, guitarist Andy Dunlop and drummer Neil Primrose.

You can catch Travis live this summer at T in the Park Festival July 13th, Sandown Racecourse July 24th and V Festival August 17/18th. 

Full tracklisting for 'Where You Stand':

1. 'Mother'
2. 'Moving
3. 'Reminder'
4. 'Where You Stand'
5. 'Warning Sign'
6. 'Another Guy'
7. 'A Different Room'
8. 'New Shoes'
9. 'On My Wall'
10. 'Boxes'
11. 'The Big Screen'