Tokyo Police Club Announce New Album 'Forcefield' Out 24th March 2014

Tokyo Police Club Announce New Album 'Forcefield' Out 24th March 2014

Tokyo Police Club are back with a brand new album Forcefield, set for release on 24th March through Memphis Industries.

The new record is the band's first release in four years, following 2010's hugely acclaimed Champ. Having  teased the new album just before the new year with a triumph of a video for the album's opening track 'Argentina (Parts I, II, III)', Tokyo Police Club have also just streamed 'Hot Tonight' on Soundcloud.

Forcefield is perhaps TPC's most direct statement of intent yet, musically referencing anything from  Tom Petty to Smashing Pumpkins, whilst never losing the unmistakable energy that has marked their work ever since their debut mini-album A Lesson in Crime.  Of the new music Monks notes, "Since writing started for Forcefield in mid-2011 there have been so many trends and every kind of 'wave.' We saw them all come and disappear or change into something broader. It left us wanting to make something that would last. We ended up rediscovering energy and guitars and simple, direct songs. There was certainly a lot of pressure to take the music somewhere new and there were lots of opinions about how to do that, but in the end we blocked all that out and followed our instincts. I think that's what Forcefield is-it doesn't matter what else is going on out there, the music just has to be honest and have a real feeling to it."

With a UK and European tour announcement imminent, 2014 is set to be a huge year for Tokyo Police Club

Forcefield tracklisting
01 Argentina (Parts I, II, III)
02 Hot Tonight
03 Miserable
04 Gonna Be Ready
05 Beaches
06 Toy Guns
07 Tunnel Vision
08 Through the Wire
09 Feel the Effect