Tokyo Police Club Announce 2014 Spring UK Tour

Tokyo Police Club Announce 2014 Spring UK Tour

Ontario's Tokyo Police Club are back with a brand new album Forcefield, set for release on 24th March through Memphis Industries., each order including an instant download of two tracks, the 8 minute epic that is 'Argentina (Parts I, II, III)', and their most pure pop moment to date, 'Hot Tonight'.

Today, Tokyo Police Club have confirmed a string of UK and Ireland dates:

27th March - King Tuts, Glasgow
28th March - Whelans, Dublin
30h March - The Ruby Lounge, Manchester
31st March - Cockpit 2, Leeds
1st April - Scala, London

The new record is the quartet's first release in four years, following 2010's hugely acclaimed Champ. Having teased the new album just before the new year with the mesmerizing video for the album's opening track 'Argentina (Parts I, II, III)', Tokyo Police Club have also recently premiered 'Hot Tonight' on Pitchfork.

Forcefield is perhaps TPC's most direct statement of intent yet, musically referencing anything from Tom Petty to Smashing Pumpkins, whilst never losing the unmistakable energy that has marked their work ever since their debut mini-album A Lesson in Crime. The forthcoming album was produced by Doug Boehm (Girls, Dr Dog) and singer David Monks.

Of the new music Monks notes, "Since writing started for Forcefield in mid-2011 there have been so many trends and every kind of 'wave.' We saw them all come and disappear or change into something broader. It left us wanting to make something that would last. We ended up rediscovering energy and guitars and simple, direct songs. There was certainly a lot of pressure to take the music somewhere new and there were lots of opinions about how to do that, but in the end we blocked all that out and followed our instincts. I think that's what Forcefield is-it doesn't matter what else is going on out there, the music just has to be honest and have a real feeling to it."

Forcefield tracklisting: 1. Argentina (Parts I, II, III), 2. Hot Tonight, 3. Miserable, 4. Gonna Be Ready, 5. Beaches, 6. Toy Guns, 7. Tunnel Vision, 8. Through The Wire, 9. Feel The Effect

Tokyo Police Club are David Monks (vocals, bass), Graham Wright (keys), Josh Hook (guitar) and Greg Alsop (drums).