Tina Fey will become the youngest person ever to win the Mark Twain Prize for American humour.

The 'Date Night' actress will be only the third woman ever to be presented with the award - which was established in 1998 to honour people who had impacted society in ways reminiscent of the 19th century writer - when she accepts the prize in November.

The 40-year-old star will be feted by a host of celebrities including 'Date Night' co-star Steve Carell, 'Mad Men' star Jon Hamm, fellow 'Saturday Night Live' alumni Jimmy Fallon and Seth Meyers, actor Steve Martin and singer-and-actress Jennifer Hudson.

Legendary comedic actress Betty White will also honour Tina at the ceremony.

Tina - the former head writer at 'SNL' who shot to fame with her impressions of former US vice-presidential candidate Sarah -returned to the show in May this year when Betty White hosted.

Previous winners include Whoopi Goldberg, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Billy Crystal and Bill Cosby.