Superproducer Timbaland scooped a double win at the 21st Annual ASCAP Rhythm and Soul Awards on Monday night (23Jun08), taking two top prizes including Songwriter of the Year.
The Apologize beatmaker, who has scored chart success with artists like Justin Timberlake, Nelly Furtado and OneRepublic, was also honoured for his work on rapper Fabolous' song Make Me Better.
Timbaland's latest win comes just months after he was named Songwriter of the Year at the 25th Annual ASCAP Pop Music Awards in April (08).
However, the biggest accolade of the night went to Bobby Brown's former boyband New Edition - all six members were presented with the prestigious ASCAP Golden Note Award in recognition of their "innovative and enduring contributions to Rhythm and Soul music".
Other guests at the ceremony in Los Angeles' Beverly Hilton Hotel included Ne-Yo, TLC's T-Boz, Floetry's Marsha Ambrosius, The Dream and MC Lyte.
The main list of winners is as follows:
Songwriter of the Year: Timbaland
Publisher of the Year: EMI Music Publishing
Ringtone of the Year: This is Why I'm Hot - performed by Mims, (written by Darryl 'DMC' MCDaniels, Havoc, Danny 'Styles' Schofield, Thomas 'Tommy Gunz' Simons, Winston 'Blackout' Thomas and Charles 'Keak Da Sneak' Williams) R+B/Hip-Hop Song of the Year: Lost Without U - performed by Robin Thicke, (written by Thicke and Sean Hurley) Rap Song of the Year: Make Me Better - performed by Fabolous and Ne-Yo, (written by Timbaland and Fabolous) Gospel Song of the Year: Blessed + Highly Favored - performed by The Clark Sisters, (written by Karen Clark-Sheard).