Veteran rocker The Who have recorded their first new song in eight years to promote a new 50th anniversary hits compilation.

Be Lucky will appear on the band's upcoming two-disc collection The Who Hits 50! alongside classic tracks like I Can See For Miles, Magic Bus, Pinball Wizard and Won't Get Fooled Again.

Be Lucky is The Who's first original tune since the release of their 2006 comeback album Endless Wire.

Band stalwarts Roger Daltrey and Pete Townshend will hit the road for an anniversary tour shortly after the new hits collection is released. They'll be joined by new The Who regulars Zak Starkey and Pino Pallodino, as well as former Style Council star Mick Talbot.