The Who are to release a new song to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

The 'My Generation' rockers reached the landmark this year and are bringing out 'Who Hits 50', a compilation of their best songs, complete with fresh composition 'Be Lucky' to mark the occasion.

'Be Lucky' is The Who's first new material for eight years and the track was produced by Dave Eringa, best known for his work with the Manic Street Preachers, Wilko Johnson and Roger Daltrey.

The song was recorded this summer at British Grove and Yellowfish Studios and as well as frontman Daltrey and guitarist Pete Townshend it also long-time Who live musicians, drummer Zak Starkey, bassist Pino Palladino and keyboard player Mick Talbot.

All royalties made from the song will be donated to Daltrey and Townshend's charity Teen Cancer America.

The album will be released on November 3 to coincide with the band's 50th anniversary UK tour, 'The Who Hits 50'.

Speaking about the run of shows, that kick off on November 30 in Glasgow, Scotland, Townshend previously said: ''I really want to do it. I'm good at it and I find it fulfilling but it's not something I enjoy as much as sitting at home in the studio writing songs. But this one I really want to do because it's a significant anniversary ... To me it's all about going out and playing and celebrating the 50th anniversary.''

'Who Hits 50' tracklisting:

Disc 1

Zoot Suit - (as The High Numbers)

I Can't Explain

Anyway Anyhow Anywhere

My Generation


The Kids Are Alright

I'm A Boy

Happy Jack

Boris The Spider

Pictures Of Lily

The Last Time

I Can See For Miles

Call Me Lightning


Magic Bus

Pinball Wizard

I'm Free

The Seeker

Summertime Blues (live)

See Me, Feel Me

Won't Get Fooled Again (single edit)

Let's See Action


Behind Blue Eyes

Disc 2

Baba O' Riley

Join Together



Love Reign O'er Me


Squeeze Box

Slip Kid

Who Are You

Trick Of The Light

You Better You Bet

Don't Let The Coat


Eminence Front

It's Hard

Real Good Looking Boy

It's Not Enough

Be Lucky