The Twang Announce New Album 'N E O N T W A N G' Released 10th March 2014

The Twang Announce New Album 'N E O N T W A N G' Released 10th March 2014

The Twang return with a new album on 10th March. 'N E O N T W A N G' was recorded in London at Rory Attwell's Lightship95 with the Warm Brains man on production duties, a combination that has delivered the band's strongest set of songs to date.

'N E O N T W A N G' also marks the full debut of new member Jon 'Simmo' Simcox as a full writing member of The Twang. Simmo was also the brains behind the video for album track 'The Wobble' which premiered on The Fly's website in October who described it as 'resembling Ariel Pink doing Tears For Fears'.

'N E O N T W A N G' marks an important moment for the band. Their fourth album, lead singer Phil Etheridge described making it as 'easily the most fun we've had in the studio since before the band got a record deal'. Having lived through (and survived) the slings and arrows of (much) outrageous fortune, the band have found a space where they are back to the core values that have kept them together as a writing unit for over a decade.

'N E O N T W A N G' comprises a series of recordings that encompass light touch balladry, dub, trip hop and sunshine pop. That early leak of 'The Wobble' from the album points the way, a track that veers from delicate melody to overdriven industrial noise, it is the perfect pointer for an album that cares only for its own quality. Those who know their music may also note the echo of club culture, a constant driver for the band, in album closer 'Bywyd Da', with its reference to Inner City's club classic 'Good Life'. Welsh speakers (or users of Google translate) will get the joke.