The Pigeon Detectives Announce New Album 'We Met At Sea' Released 29th April 2013

The Pigeon Detectives Announce New Album 'We Met At Sea' Released 29th April 2013

Having sold over 500,000 albums, Leeds five-piece The Pigeon Detectives are back with the first album in 2 years, 'We Met At Sea' released 29th April 2013 via Cooking Vinyl records.

"We're a live band. That's where we cut our teeth, that's where we're most comfortable, that's where we have the most fun. That's where we made our name."

These are the words of The Pigeon Detectives singer Matt Bowman, speaking as his band have just completed the recording of their fourth album, 'We Met At Sea'.  Having already garnered a reputation as one of the most raucous, thrilling live acts in the UK - they have siphoned this rip-roar on-stage energy into their most honest, immediate album yet. This is not a 'live album'. But it is their most alive.

"For the third album we almost went against our instincts at times," Bowman concedes, speaking of 2011's 'Up Guards, And At 'Em', which followed their 2007 debut 'Wait For Me' and 2008's 'Emergency' - both Top Five hits. "We reigned ourselves in. On this one we just wrote what came out, really natural, we didn't force anything, and if something wasn't good enough we just threw it away. Where possible, original live takes were used - there's errors left in, it all adds character. It just made sense to us to write a record that will translate live and create a rock and roll atmosphere at our shows."

The results shout for themselves. Recorded in the band's home city Leeds at Cottage Road Studios with producer Matt Peel and their sound engineer Andy Hawkins (Kaiser Chiefs, ¡Forward, Russia!, Hawk Eyes, Pulled Apart By Horses) - brought in to ensure the live energy was captured perfectly - 'We Met At Sea' sees The Pigeon Detectives abandon their polished indie-rock for something more plugged in, unpredictable and real.

The new album may be rawer in sound, but this shift has not been undertaken at the expense of the back-of-the-cab everyman lyrical wit that the band made their own on their previous offerings. 'Hold Your Gaze' is a universal break-up song that hits the throat hard, 'Light Me Up' is an untethered Friday night chaos song, 'No State To Drive' melodically wags the finger at that fuck-up friend who always go too far. "We don't try to be too specific with lyrics," laughs Bowman, when asked about the inspiration. "We're not the kind of band who preach."

We Met At Sea tracklisting
1:   Animal
2:   I Won't Come Back
3:   Hold Your Gaze
4:   Light Me Up
5:   Can't You Find Me
6:   I Don't Mind
7:   Day And Month
8:   Unforgettable
9:   No State To Drive
10: Where You Are

Thu 25 April Preston 53 Degrees
Fri 26 April Whitehaven Civic Hall
Sat 27 April Sheffield Leadmill
Sun 28 April Stoke Sugarmill
Tues 30 April Norwich Waterfront
Wed 1 May Birmingham Institute
Thu 2 May Middlesbrough Empire
Fri 3 May Glasgow Arches
Sat 4 May Live at Leeds
Mon 6 May Cambridge Junction
Tue 7 May Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Wed 8 May Bristol Thekla
Thu 9 May London, Dingwalls  (SOLD OUT)
Fri 10  May Brighton Coalition
Sat 11 May Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
All shows £12.50 (plus booking and card fee) except London £15 (plus booking and card fee)