The Melodic Release Debut Album 'Effra Parade' On 17th March 2014

The Melodic Release Debut Album 'Effra Parade' On 17th March 2014

Brixton band The Melodic will release debut album 'Effra Parade' on 17th March 2014, through Anti-, preceded by first single 'Runaway' on 23rd December 2013. It is the full length Anti- debut from the group whose infectious merging of folk, world beat and pop is already generating critical praise in America.

The Melodic are a quietly radical band. After signing to U.S label Anti Records, (home of Tom Waits, Tinariwen, Calexico, Beth Orton, Neko Case), they moved from their home in Brixton, London where the album was recorded, to live in L.A and New York. They busked in subways and toured non-stop for 6 months.

Their first release, 'On My Way' EP, caught the attention of the American critics and alongside a headline tour, mounting radio play, their first TV appearance, on Carson Daly (NBC), 'Effra Parade' has become a critically acclaimed album, and their live gigs (where they play an assortment of exotic instruments including the charango, auto harp, and melodica) a must see show.

'Effra Parade' was self-recorded and self-produced in Rudi Schmidt's soundproofed bedroom in South London over several years while he squatted down the road. The album features an array of local musicians and a baroque line-up of over 18 instruments, American Songwriter explains "the multi-instrumentalist five piece invites over a dozen extra musicians to bring their talents on instruments as horns, flute, cello, oboe and viola among many others to the process. Add flawless harmonies and the result of all of this cross-pollination is a lush, lovely pillow of sound, perfectly produced with immaculate sonic qualities."

UK live dates and video to be announced soon.

Track Listing:

Last Thing You Said (intro)
On My Way
Imperfect Time
Honey Bee (interlude)
Ode to Victor Jara
Willow (interlude)
Come Outside
Lost To You
Dreams of Air
Watch the World Turn Blue
Piece Me Back Together
Effra Parade (outro)