The Jim Jones Revue Announce May 2013 London Shows

The Jim Jones Revue Announce May 2013 London Shows

7 Times Around The Sun is the third single to be released from The Jim Jones Revue critically acclaimed album The Savage Heart produced by Jim Sclavunos  (Nick Cave & The Band Seeds).  7 Times Around The Sun is a great example of The Savage Heart's musical diversity-No guitars (A JJR first!) just piano, drums and a call and response gospel type vocal between Jim Jones and The 'Revue. Lyrically Jim delves into the past and deals with the subject of overcoming drug addiction touching on a part of a personal journey that ultimately led to the forming of The Jim Jones Revue  with Rupert Orton.

The Jim Jones Revue have built a formidable reputation as a live band selling out The Electric Ballroom and a host of other venues on their last UK tour last October.  To mark the release of 7 Times Around The Sun The JJR have curated a special event going back to their roots with a 4 date residency at The Sebright Arms  in the heart of  their home in Hackney. Over four shows at The Sebright The JJR have hand picked a bill of friends, special guests, bands and DJs.  Among many highlights will be guest spots from Emma Richardson from Band of Skulls and Hollie Cook, DJs includiing Douglas Hart (The Jesus & Mary Chain) and Barry 'Scratchy" Myers (The Clash tour DJ) plus many more guests and DJs to be announced nearer the time or on the night of the shows.

The support acts will be  John J Presley, Daniel Jenrenaud, Tupenny Bunters and The Rotten Hill Gang.

The Rotten Hill Gang show is a West/East London rematch after TRHG invited Jim and Rupert to play with them on a special Rotten Hill TV show directed by The Clash's Mick Jones filmed in his West London studio and compered by Don Letts.   One of the tracks they played together was Tin Soldier by The Small Faces which The JJR will play with Hollie Cook & Annie Bea on backing vocals.

More special guests and surprises to be announced over the forthcoming weeks.

7 Times Around The Sun is released by Play It Again Sam and Punk Rock Blues Records on Monday 13 May.

Advance tickets for The Sebright Session shows sold out in 24 hours but a limited allocation will be released for sale on the door each night.

8 pm Doors for all shows
 The Sebright Sessions Schedule:
 The Jim Jones Revue headline each night with the following guests and DJs ..

Wednesday 8 May
 Guest Emma Richardson (Band of Skulls)
DJ Douglas Hart (Jesus & Mary Chain)
Support:  John J Presley

Thursday 9 May
Guest: Very Special Guest To Be Announced on the night
DJ Lois Wilson (Mojo)
Support:  Daniel Jeanrenaud

Friday 10 May
Guest: Very special guest to be announced on the night
DJ Scratchy (Clash tour DJ)
Support: The Tupenny Bunters

Saturday 11 May
Guests: Hollie Cook & Annie Bea
DJ Wild Cat Will
Support: The Rotten Hill Gang