The Baptist Generals Announce New Album 'Jackleg Devotional To The Heart' Released On 20th May 2013

The Baptist Generals Announce New Album 'Jackleg Devotional To The Heart' Released On 20th May 2013

On 20th May Sub Pop will release Jackleg Devotional to the Heart,  the long-awaited new album by The Baptist Generals from Denton, Texas. J'ackleg Devotional to the Heart' is the follow-up to the band's 2003 debut full-length 'No Silver / No Gold'. And it is well worth the wait. Available on CD, LP and digitally, the album features the lead single 'Dog That Bit You' along with highlights  'Broken Glass', 'Turnunders and Overpasses' and 'My O My' and was produced by the band's Jason Riemer and Grammy-winning engineer Stuart Sikes (White Stripes, Cat Power) at The Cigar Box and Elmwood Studios in Oak Cliff, TX. Please find a full tracklisting below.

The Baptist Generals will support 'Jackleg Devotional to the Heart' with soon to be announced tour dates in 2013. Before that the band has two record release shows for the new album in American:  1st June in Denton at Dan's Silverleaf and 8th June in Dallas at the Texas Theatre as part of the 2nd annual Oak Cliff Film Festival.

More on The Baptist Generals:
On The Baptist Generals' sophomore album, the word "heart" repeats eight*** times. The Denton, TX band, known for its haunting, claustrophobic take on drunken folk, needed a full ten years to bare its hearts-one of which is in the album title, Jackleg Devotional to the Heart', a name that songwriter Chris Flemmons conjured shortly after he recorded, and then trashed, the album's first attempt in 2005. Flemmons goes so far as to call this his "love album," and it's an apt description-though love through The Baptist Generals' eyes is plenty complicated. Jackleg's hearts don't resemble valentines. No smooth curls into a final point. The band's vibraphones, guitarrons and ambient feedback combine like a mess of ventricles, aortas and veins-not to mention, from the sound of it, all of the blood spilled while Jackleg lurched for years toward an eventual finish line

'Jackleg Devotional to the Heart' Tracklisting:
01. Machine En Prolepsis
02. Dog That Bit You
03. Clitorpus Christi
04. Turnunders and Overpasses
05. Oblivion
06. 3 Bromides
07. Broken Glass
08. Snow on the FM
09. Floating
10. My O My
11. Morning of My Life
12. Oblivion Overture

US Tour Dates
Mar. 08 - Denton, TX - Dan's Silverleaf (2pm / Listening Party and Q&A)
Jun. 01 - Denton, TX - Dan's Silverleaf
Jun. 07 - Dallas, TX - Texas Theatre / Oak Cliff Film Festival