Spike Lee and Tyler Perry are among the directors nominated at the upcoming NAACP Image Awards. The civil rights organisation announced the nominations in three directing categories on Tuesday (27Jan09), with Lee and Tyler leading the pack.
Lee received a nod for best motion picture director with Miracle of St. Anna and will compete against Perry (The Family That Preys), Darnell Martin (Cadillac Records), Gina Prince Bythewood (The Secret Life of Bees) and Patrik Ian Polk (Noah's Arc: Jumping the Broom).
In the TV comedy category, Kevin Sullivan was nominated for his work on hit series 30 Rock, and will go up against Ali LeRoi (Everybody Hates Chris), Ken Whittingham (Entourage), Tracee Ellis Ross (Girlfriends) and Victor Nelli, Jr. (Ugly Betty).
While Heroes director Anthony Hemingway leads the TV drama shortlist. He will battle it out with Eriq LaSalle (Law & Order: SVU), Ernest DICkerson, (Lincoln Heights), Paris Barclay (In Treatment) and Seth Mann (The Wire).
The winner will be announced at the 40th NAACP Image Awards, which celebrates diversity in the arts, in Los Angeles on 12 February (09).