Former TV personality-turned-writer Janet Ellis is up for the literary dishonour along with five other nominees, thanks to lovemaking scenes detailed in her new book The Butcher's Hook.

The 'prize' was created "to draw attention to poorly written, perfunctory or redundant passages of sexual description in modern fiction".

She faces competition from authors Tom Connolly, Gayle Forman, Ethan Canin, Robert Seethaler, and Erri De Luca.

The winner of the award, which was won by singer Morrissey last year (15), will be announced on 30 November (16).