Snow Patrol



created by


Release Date: 01.11.04 Label: Family Recordings (CD 9823739 / Vinyl 9823735)

Click here to launch The Trip ecard

This is the 5 th instalment of The Trip and comes fresh from the rather substantial record bag of Gary Lightbody , lead vocalist and guitarist of global superstars, Snow Patrol .


Snow Patrol has enjoyed the most successful year of its career, with the multi-platinum ‘Final Straw’ album becoming one of the ‘must have’ albums of 2004. They’ve had a top 5 single with ‘Run’, and ‘Chocolate’ has been one of the biggest airplay hits of the year. On stage, they stole the show at Glastonbury, Isle of Wight and T In The Park; they’ve toured the US twice and also been around Europe, Australia and Japan to huge critical acclaim.

But there has still been time for a Trip.

Gary and the band have created a reputation for some ferocious after-show DJ sessions – and when Gary heard the Tom Middleton Trip album earlier this year he was inspired to have a crack at a Trip of his own. The result, we hope you will agree, is pretty special . . .

Disc 1: bert

  • Low & Spring Heel Jack – Way Behind
  • Emperor Machine – Expanding In Reproduction
  • Sir Drew – My Sex
  • Machines – Everywhere
  • TV On The Radio – Staring At The Sun
  • Dark Room Dubs – Submergible
  • The Knife – Heartbeats (Rex The Dog Mix)
  • Four Tet – Everything Is All right
  • Alan Braxe / Fred Falke – Love Lost
  • Kojak – You Can’t Stop It
  • Smith n Hack – To Our Disco Friends
  • Seelenluft (feat. Jim Reid) – I Can See Clearly Now
  • Secret Machines – Road Leads Where It’s Led
  • Mylo – Drop The Pressure
  • Jacknife Lee – Fear Of Nothing
  • Sex In Dallas – Everybody Deserves To Be Fucked (Tomcats in Tokyo Mix)
  • Feist – Shaboom
  • Disc 2: ernie
  1. The Shins – Weird Divide
  2. Cocorosie – By Your Side
  3. Husky Rescue – Rainbow Flows
  4. Bill Withers – When I’m Kissing My Love
  5. Hot Chip – Take Care
  6. The Fiery Furnaces – Bow Wow
  7. Deerhoof – Milking
  8. The Duke Spirit – Cuts Across The Land
  9. Rilo Kiley – With Arms Outstretched
  10. Joy Zipper – Christmas Song
  11. Republic of Loose – Girl I’m Gonna Fuck You Up
  12. Harco Pront – Sleaze
  13. Mum – Green Grass Of Tunnel
  14. Iain Archer – Does This Have A Name
  15. Nina Nastasia - Superstar

Gary has woven together a mix of styles featuring current faves Mylo, Hot Chip, Four Tet and Seelenluft plus amazing funk driven workouts from Bill Withers, Jacknife Lee and Sex In Dallas. Gary has also plundered some weird and wonderful tunes on his travels from Husky Rescue, The Shins, Mum and TV On The Radio. This cocktail is topped off with a s mattering of Gallic genius from Alan Braxe & also Kojak.

The Trip – Rules & Regulations

Family Recording’s Trip series is bound by the unmoveable rule that there are no rules. Each DJ is encouraged to create their own unique compilation, picking as eclectic a selection of music as possible from tracks they love, tracks that have influenced them and nuggets that they have come across over the years. There are no restrictions on content.

The Trip created by Snow Patrol will be released on CD and vinyl and you can expect to pay around 13.99 for either format, although this figure will probably vary between retailers.

Gary Lightbody is prepared to talk about his Trip, if you’d like. Give us a call . . .

Other Trips In The Series

The Trip created by Dirty Vegas

The Trip created by Tom Middleton

The Trip created by Tim Love Lee

The Trip created by Saint. Etienne