Legendary rockers Sir Paul McCartney, David Bowie, Elvis Costello, Morrissey, Prince, Paul Weller and Ray Davies are among the artists in line for a place on the MOJO Honours List - the British magazine's unique new annual awards.

The event - to be held at the BANQUETING HOUSE in London's Whitehall on 22 June (04) - is the UK's first awards ceremony to be based on recognising career-long contributions to popular music.

The nominations for the Mojo Icon Award, voted for by the listeners of Mojo Radio, are David Bowie, Kate Bush, Marvin Gaye, Morrissey and Prince.

Joe Strummer, ARTHUR LEE, The Smiths, David Bowie and Johnny Cash are in contention for the Mojo Inspiration Award, presented to an act or person who has been the catalyst, the trigger, and the inspiration for other artists' music.

The Mojo Songwriter Award will be presented to an artist whose career has been defined by their ability to pen classic material on a consistent basis - Paul McCartney, Ray Davies, Nick Drake, Paul Weller and Elvis Costello are all in the line for the prize.

07/06/2004 17:13