The producer/writer will be honoured by bosses at the International Television Academy for her her "groundbreaking" work at the International Emmy Awards in November (16) in New York.

"I am continually amazed by the global reach of television and have been so fortunate to have fans of my shows around the world," she says.

Past recipients of the award include Mad Men creator Matthew Weiner, Glee boss Ryan Murphy and Lost creator J.J. Abrams.