School Of Seven Bells Announce New Single 'Lafaye' Released February 20th 2012

School Of Seven Bells Announce New Single 'Lafaye' Released February 20th 2012

Following the first taster of the album "The Night" being streamed online pre-Christmas, Brooklyn duo School Of Seven Bells (Benjamin Curtis and Alejandra Deheza) are set to release their lead single "Lafaye" on February 20. "Lafaye" will be released as a limited edition white 7" herein the UK. The songs namesake is also the tormented character in their upcoming album Ghostory, which will be released on February 27.

The band just shot the "Lafaye" video in Texas with director David Lowery, who worked with the band in 2010 on their arresting video "I.L.U." as well as on their 2009 video for "Half Asleep." According to Alejandra (Alley), "The setting for "Lafaye" was shot in a beautiful old house in South Dallas. The house itself seems to be trapped in the time it was built, while completely thrown to the mercy of the elements. The spookiness and trapped, pacing energy of that setting was huge in expressing the words and music of the song."

Ghostory is the follow-up to the band's past releases, Alpinisms and Disconnect From Desire. On the new record, the duo strings together nine lush pieces to tell the story of the aforementioned Lafaye and the ghosts that surround her life. Thematically, the story is somewhat personal to the group, as the writing sessions for this album was a more intimate and direct experience. As Curtis explains "Ghosts are everything that's ever happened to you that you haven't been able to let go of, like someone you love, or someone you hate." The emphatic bellows of Lafaye and her fellow ghosts are heard loud and clear from beginning to end on this record.

School of Seven Bells will be in tour in UK this spring - full details to be announced shortly.