Savages Release Debut Album 'Silence Yourself' On 6th May 2013

Savages Release Debut Album 'Silence Yourself' On 6th May 2013

'Savages is not trying to give you something you didn't have already, it is calling within yourself something you buried ages ago, it is an attempt to reveal and reconnect your physical and emotional self and give you the urge to experience your life differently, your girlfriends, your husbands, your jobs, your erotic life and the place music occupies in your life. because we must teach ourselves new ways of positive manipulations, music and words are aiming to strike like lightning, like a punch in the face, a determination to understand the will and desires of the self. This album is to be played loud in the foreground.' Savages, 2013.

Savages will release their debut album 'Silence Yourself' on 6th May 2013 on Matador Records / Pop Noire. Available on LP, CD and download, the album was recorded in north-west London's Fish Factory during a three week period in December 2012, and is produced by Johnny Hostile / Rodaidh McDonald. 

Clocking in at 38 minutes, 'Silence Yourself' opens with an excerpt from the John Cassavetes film 'Opening Night', and features brand new recordings of 'Husbands', 'I Am Here' and 'City's Full' - first heard on debut single 'Husbands / Flying To Berlin' and the 'I Am Here' live EP - both previously released on singer Jehnny Beth's record label Pop Noire. 

The first song to be revealed from the album is 'She Will'.

The album will be available to pre-order from iTunes from Tuesday 19th at midnight, and fans who do so will instantly receive an mp3 download of 'She Will'. 

The album comprises eleven tracks that are uncompromising and delivered with fierce conviction.   

Savages are: Ayse Hassan (bass), Fay Milton (drums), Gemma Thompson (guitar) and Jehnny Beth (vocals) 

Meanwhile, following sold out shows in Europe and America, including a recent gig at London's 1200 capacity Electric Ballroom venue, Savages will continue to tour throughout the coming months. 

'Silence Yourself' track listing: 

A1 Shut Up 
A2 I Am Here 
A3 City's Full 
A4 Strife 
A5 Waiting For A Sign 

B1 Dead Nature 
B2 She Will 
B3 No Face 
B4 Hit Me 
B5 Husbands 
B6 Marshal Dear 

Tour dates:

18th - Bowery Ballroom, New York, USA (sold out) 
19th - Music Hall of Williamsburg, New York, USA  (sold out) 
22nd - Horseshoe Tavern, Toronto, Canada 
23rd - Lee's Palace, Toronto, Canada 
11th - The Echo, LA, USA 
13th - Coachella Festival, California, USA   
15th - Bunk Bar, Portland, USA 
16th - Neumo's, Seattle, USA 
18th - The Independent, San Francisco, USA 
20th - Coachella Festival, California, USA 
1st - Queen's Social Club, Sheffield, UK 
2nd - SWG3, Glasgow, UK 
3rd - Liverpool Sound City, UK 
4th - Live at Leeds Festival, UK 
5th - Arts Centre, Norwich, UK 
7th - Bodega, Nottingham, UK 
8th - Old Fire Station, Bournemouth. UK 
13th - Botanique-Orangie, Brussels, Belgium 
15th - Melkweg, Amsterdam, Netherlands 
16th - Geb9, Cologne, Germany 
17th - Lido, Berlin, Germany 
19th - Zoom, Frankfurt, Germany 
20th - Kinski, Zurich, Switzerland 
21st - Magnolia Club, Milan, Italy 
23rd - Primavera Sound Festival, Barcelona, Spain 
25th - Field Day Festival, London, UK 
1st - Primavera Sound Festival, Porto, Portugal 
6th - Pop Noire night, La Maroquinerie, Paris 
8th - Manchester Parklife Festival, UK