Singer/songwriter Sam Roberts was the big winner at Sunday night's (04APR04) JUNO AWARDS in Canada, taking home three top honours.

The Montreal-based star won every category in which he was nominated, including Artist of The Year, for which he beat Celine Dion, Nelly Furtado and Sarah Mclachlan.

Roberts' debut album WE WERE BORN IN A FLAME won the Album of The Year and Rock Album of The Year awards.

Rockers Nickelback were double winners at the Edmonton prizegiving, claiming honours as Group of The Year and the public-voted Fan Choice Award.

Sarah McLachlan picked up honours for Songwriter of The Year and Best Pop Album for AFTERGLOW.

Nelly Furtado's POWERLESS was named Single of The Year, while Toronto-based rockers Billy Talent took home the honour for Best New Group and Michael Buble was crowned Best New Artist.

Alanis Morissette hosted and performed alongside NICKELBACK and AVRIL LAVIGNE.

06/04/2004 02:04