Robbie Williams, Amy Winehouse and Kylie Minogue are among the stars who feature on a new Radio 1 cover album.

To celebrate the radio station's 40th anniversary, 40 songs from 1967 to 2007 have been collated on one album.

It kicks off with a cover of the 1967 hit Flowers in the Rain, originally by the Move and covered by the Kaiser Chiefs.

Other highlights includes Williams' cover of The Kinks' Lola, Franz Ferdinand playing David Bowie's Sound and Vision and Kylie's rendition of Love is the Drug by Roxie Music.

Razorlight take on Englishman in New York by Sting, while the View paid tribute to their musical forebears with a cover of Don't Look Back Into the Sun, by The Libertines.

Staines band Hard-Fi feature with a version of Britney Spears' Toxic, while teen band McFly get serious with The Jam's Town Called Malice.

The album will be released on October 1st through Universal, titled Radio 1 Established 1967.

The station was launched after the popularity of offshore pirate stations playing contemporary music for a younger audience.

The first ever DJ to broadcast on Radio 1 was none other than Tony Blackburn.

16/08/2007 14:55:18