Ringo Starr will release a new album next month.

The former Beatles member has announced 'Postcards From Paradise' will be available from March 30 in the UK, which will feature various musicians because he enjoys creating tracks with other artists.

He said: ''I do basic tracks and I invite writers to come and join me, and we write songs -- from Van Dyke Parks to Richard Marx.

''So, I just have fun. I love hanging out with musicians. And we have the excuse, if we are writing a song.''

The 11-track record - which will be his 18th studio release - was recorded and produced by the 74-year-old musician at his home studio in Los Angeles, with musicians already confirmed for the record including Dave Stewart, Joe Walsh, Benmont Tench, and Ann Marie Simpson, as well as friends and family members who visited him while the LP was being made last year.

As well as the new album, Ringo will tour the US and Latin America this year with his All Starr band - Steve Lukather, Todd Rundgren, Gregg Rolie, Richard Page, Warren Ham and Gregg Bissonette, who he has recorded the album with - and will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, Ohio on April 18, when he will receive the Award for Musical Excellence.

The tracklisting from 'Postcards From Paradise' is as follows:

1. 'Rory And The Hurricanes'

2. 'You Bring The Party Down'

3. 'Bridges'

4. 'Postcards From Paradise'

5. 'Right Side Of The Road'

6. 'Not Looking Back'

7. 'Bamboula'

8. 'Island In The Sun'

9. 'Touch And Go'

10. 'Confirmation'

11. 'Let Love Lead'