The Walk the Line star will receive the prize from the cultural organisation during a gala benefit in Los Angeles on 30 October (15).

Rick Nicita, American Cinematheque chairman, praised Witherspoon's work in a statement which reads: "The American Cinematheque is extremely pleased to honor Reese Witherspoon as the 29th recipient of the American Cinematheque award at our celebration this year. Reese Witherspoon's career is a perfect example of an actress flourishing in today's world."

In addition to her acclaimed work as an actress, Witherspoon also heads her own production company, Pacific Standard, which was behind hit thriller Gone Girl and drama Wild, which earned the star her second Academy Award nomination.

Past recipients of the American Cinematheque prize include Matt Damon, Robert Downey, Jr. and last year's (14) honouree and Witherspoon's Mud co-star, Matthew Mcconaughey.