Rachel Zoe has been added to the Council of Fashion Designers of America's board.

The organisation - a not-for-profit trade association of over 350 of America's foremost fashion and accessory designers - admitted 26 new members including Rachel, Joseph Altuzarra of Altuzarra, von Furstenberg's Yvan Mispelaere and Jean-Michel Cazabat.

The CFDA also extended Diane Von Furstenberg's run as president for another two years with the designer first taking on the role in 2009.

CFDA chief executive officer Steven Kolb told WWD: ''Diane has done an excellent job as CFDA president. The time and resources she gives and the vision she has created is a huge benefit for our organisation and industry.''

Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen took home the biggest prize at the recent CFDA awards.

The former child TV stars were selected as the country's top womenswear designers for their collection The Row.

Jessica Chastain announced the 25-year-old twins as winners at the Lincoln Centre in New York.

Other winners included Billy Reid for Menswear Designer of the Year, Reed Krakoff for Accessory Designer of the Year, Joseph Altuzarra for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Womenswear, Phillip Lim for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Menswear and Tabitha Simmons for the Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent in Accessories.

The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Tommy Hilfiger and The Fashion Icon Award was given to Hollywood star Johnny Depp.