Pyyramids Debut Album 'Brightest Darkest Day' To Be Released April 9th 2013

Pyyramids Debut Album 'Brightest Darkest Day' To Be Released April 9th 2013

On April 9, indie label Paracadute will release Pyyramids' full-length debut, Brightest Darkest Day. The band - helmed by Tim Nordwind from indie rock band OK Go and Drea Smith of the electro-pop outfit He Say/She Say - will preview material from the forthcoming album at SXSW. They will celebrate the album's release with a street week East Coast run followed by a U.K. tour. Dates will be announced shortly. 

"PYYRAMIDS's music is a perfect combination of catchy songwriting, vulnerable lyricism and pop," said Interview. "Their reverberating textured beats and slightly gloomy, Joy Division-style attitude are all topped off with strangely catchy hooks...we didn't know whether we should brood or dance when we first listened," observed NYLON, which premiered Human Beings. "But soon we realized that we didn't have to decide. And if you ask us, it's exactly this two-sidedness that makes PYYRAMIDS so damn cool." MTV's Buzzworthy blog praised Smith's "sultry, lush vocals" and pronounced the band's "Don't Go" video "absolutely perfect." 

Brightest Darkest Day finds its creators once again venturing into fresh territory. "There's a pop sensibility to the album that's bright but the sound and delivery is dark," explains Smith. 

Twisting and turning like a rollercoaster, Brightest Darkest Day careens between styles seamlessly, but with reckless abandon. "Do You Think You're Enough?" engulfs the listener in a post-punk speaker-shattering blast of guitars, yet winds down just in time to ebb into the reflective strum of guitars on "Paper Doll," which eventually builds into a 90s-style anthem reminiscent of The Breeders. Throughout, Brightest Darkest Day considers our perpetual quest for happiness and what Nordwind describes as "the madness that can come from trying to communicate with someone that you love who is having a hard time communicating back to you." 

Introduced by a mutual friend via email, Nordwind and Smith initially bonded over an affinity for first-wave British post-punk and 80's Manchester bands. They began creating songs together, working from their respective homes, and finally met when a tour brought Tim to Chicago. Drea came out to Los Angeles in early 2012 for their first proper recording session and moved to the West Coast before the year was over. 

Recorded in Nordwind's basement studio, with the final tracks recorded at Dan Konopka of OK Go's studio, Brightest Darkest Day was mixed by Dave Fridmann (Flaming Lips, MGMT) and Konopka. The track listing is as follows: 

1. Brightest Darkest Day (intro) 

2. Smoke And Mirrors 

3. Don't Go 

4. Do You Think You're Enough? 

5. Paper Doll 

6. Everyone Says 

7. Invisible Scream 

8. Time (Interlude) 

9. Time 

10. That Ain't Right 

11. Nothing I Can Say