White Sands To Release Debut 7

White Sands To Release Debut 7" Group Features Members Of Male Bonding, Mazes And Novella Stream 'The Wait' [Listen]

After their initial meeting came during stints of performing at house parties whilst in former bands, it took no time for John and Conan to become firm drinking buddies. Tagging along on each other's tours and running around the USA together, they eventually met Sophy through mutual friends, aiming to spend their time together outside of any music scene. Instead of going to gigs, they'd go and get dinner or build a bonfire. It wasn't until drinks at a friend's wedding reception when the penny dropped and the project was formed - with tracks as strong as 'The Wait' and 'Years', it conjures relief and disbelief that such a unity took so long.
With the obvious soundings and influence from their respective 'other' projects, White Sands heightens a darker and far more furious edge to any of those previous. Fusing a Pacific Northwestern / very 80's post-punk sound, clear inspiration comes from The Wipers, Wire, Stereolab and The Cure. Lead track 'The Wait' drives like a freight train, packing 182 seconds of lucid frustration - "hide everything deep inside / you won't find anything".
'The Wait' is set to be released as a 7" flexidisc accompanied by a zine put together by the band / 3 track digi-single. Art Is Hard elected to release music on this format due to frustration with the cost of a standard 7" release and a desire to create a package worth owning.

The release is ltd to 300 copies and set to be released through Art Is Hard on the 6th October. 

White Sands are Conan Roberts (Mazes), Sophy Hollington (Novella) and John Arthur Webb (Male Bonding).

24/08/14 will mark the band's debut show - Shacklewell Arms, Dalston as part of the Art Is Hard 4th birthday celebration.

1. The Wait
2. Expect Nothing
3. Years