This Town Needs Guns Change Name To Ttnl And Release New Album

This Town Needs Guns Change Name To Ttnl And Release New Album

In an unusual but thoughtful move, England's This Town Needs Guns announced on January 22nd that they will officially transition the band's name to simply TTNG. This news comes on the same day as the release of the trio's sophomore album,

The band has released the following statement: 

"With a new year, a new album and a new line up comes a new name for This Town Needs Guns. 2013 is a year of change for the band and we are taking what we feel is a positive step forward. From this point on we will simply be known as TTNG. 

"Over the years, many of you have asked where the band name comes from. As a band originating in Oxford, UK, 'This Town Needs Guns' was simply a name chosen by a group of friends wanting to make music together. At the time, this name was not considerd particularly offensive and indeed was an ironic statement given the setting of such a historic and cultural city as Oxford. 

"Context plays a big part in the way a band name such as 'This Town Needs Guns' may be perceived. In the UK, guns are not present. Ordinarily, our police force do not even carry guns. Within this context, an idea such as a town needing guns seems too absurd to be taken seriously. 

"However, eight years on, things have changed. With our music now finding new cultures, the irony of the name is no longer implicit. Also, in light of the controversy over gun ownership in the US as well as tragic shootings there and elsewhere in the world, we want to distance ourselves from a band name which we are now uncomfortable with. 

"We hope this change of name doesn't disappoint anyone. It is the music that is important, not the name. As Shakespeare's Juliet said 'What's in a name? That which we call a rose by any other name would smell as sweet.'" 

While most things related to the album will retain the band's original name, the upcoming Japanese edition will have new art and list the band only as TTNG. See that cover below alongside the original artwork. is their first album featuring their new vocalist Henry Tremain following the amicable departure of former lead singer Stuart Smith in 2011. This lineup shows considerable growth and cohesion with Tim Collis' signature bluegrass style finger-picking electric guitar lines weaving around brother and drummer Chris Collis' stop 'n' go syncopated rhythms as Tremain's rich vocals glide across the proceedings. But it's the band's earnest songwriting that really shines herein. Track list:

01. Cat Fantastic (MP3) 
02. Havoc In The Forum 
03. Left Aligned (MP3) 
04. In The Branches of Yggdrasil 
05. I'll Take The Minute Snake (MP3) 
06. 2 Birds, 1 Stone and an Empty Stomach 
07. Nice Riff, Clichard 
08. Triptych 
09. Pygmy Polygamy 
10. A Different Kind of Tall (small) 
11. +3 Awesomeness Repels Water

Listen/share the complete album here:  This Town Needs Guns "" by Sargent House