Pieter Nooten Announces New Album  'Haven'  Released April 29th 2013

Pieter Nooten Announces New Album 'Haven' Released April 29th 2013

Pieter Nooten's all instrumental new double album 'Haven' is the third in the series of solo-releases entirely composed and mixed on the Mac Book Pro. Obliged to disregard the frills of most hi-end ambient/neo-classical ear-candy productions 'Haven' is nevertheless without doubt the most authentic and exemplary sounding cd of this year. It has the true mark of the contiguous quality and style we have learned to appreciate from Nooten's previous releases, all the way back to  his 'Clan Of Xymox' song writing days.

On 'Haven' Nooten sounds more introverted and world weary then we are accustomed to hearing. Yet with an ease and productivity we can only marvel at, he sketches an introspective and deeply poetic musical world of heart-wrenching beauty, incorporating elaborate sound design and experimentation without over-producing the music or compromising his initial goals.

As a rule Pieter Nooten sounds like Pieter Nooten: there are minimal influences by predecessors, external styles or genres. Nooten's music has nothing of the contemporary obsession with traditionalist epigonism; his gaze is firmly fixed on the future, utilizing minimalist composing techniques as a tool to innovate, not imitate.

Nooten seems inspired exclusively by both his direct as well as indirect environment: the world famous Dutch panorama's of deep blue shaded cloud formations, the cold and wet Northern European climate where most human emotions are suppressed and where melancholy but also a desperate need for beauty and aesthetics blooms.

Nooten never contests his personal mark: a pensive sadness that delicately lies hidden within every single melody, sound and harmony: a profound melancholy that is intense and at some moments quite overwhelming. Here is the work of the master, not the disciple, of the innovator, not the imitator." (Andreas Engelman, Amsterdam, 2012)

(Andreas Engelman, Amsterdam, 2012)

CD1; 1 Here Is Light I, 2 Slowed I, 3 Transit, 4 The Waiting I, 5 Paik Theme I, 6 Der Abschied, 7 Unbroken I, 8 Overflight, 9 The Waiting II, 10 The Long Goodbye I

CD2; 1 Slowed II, 2 Paik Theme II, 3 Unbroken II, 4 The Long Goodbye II, 5 Here Is Light II, 6 Slowed III, 7 Unbroken III, 8 Different Planet, 9 Paik Theme III, 10 El Encuentro