Nate Young Announces New Album 'Blinding Confusion' Released June 25th 2013

Nate Young Announces New Album 'Blinding Confusion' Released June 25th 2013

Over the past few years, iconic noise artist Nate Young has been carefully crafting his own signature solo sound, as further evidenced through his progressive recordings and performances with American experimental music staples such as Wolf Eyes, Stare Case, Demons, and Moon Pool & Dead Band. After the completion of his recent Regression trilogy (part one being the self-titled disc on Ideal in 2009; 2011's Stay Asleep LP on NNA as part two; and part three Other Days on Japanese label Rockatansky in 2012), Young begins a new chapter in his personal sound world, and it is perhaps his biggest leap forward musically thus far. Regression Blinding Confusion enters a new era, retaining the techniques and studies from his previous work and raising them to new levels. Intense compositional building and structure seep through each track, traversing new ground melodically while still upholding Nate's patented over-bearing weight of dread and slow-burning darkness at all the right moments. Deep, percussive brutality and pulsing neurosis mesh with somber burial hymns, held together by Young's technical prowess and mastery of his chosen gear. Each frequency is given it's own unique role and characteristic voice, deeply chilled by the arid space of decay via tape manipulation/disintegration, howling its way through the grooves of the record like a cold wind of dead space that billows throughout, unrelenting. Atonal, morphing, and modulating bass lines pulse and plod their way through, like the unseen presence of the undead ascending a creaking stairway, leading upwards toward a nebulous void. This establishes a truly horrific atmosphere while honoring primitive technology, refined with a thick dose of originality. Self-recorded at Burning Log Studios and M.U.G. in Young's native zone of Detroit, Michigan, combined with high definition mastering and cutting by Lupo at Calyx in Berlin, Germany, make Blinding Confusion the defining artifact by one of the United State's most talented voices in noise and experimental music.

Nate Young is best known for his work in the group Wolf Eyes. Created by Young in 1998, the now-legendary noise group defined the genre. His primitive drum sequencing and unique vocal delivery gave listeners some of their most memorable music experiences. In the decade that followed, Wolf Eyes toured the world, released reams of records, collaborated with heavies, and generally enamored and influenced a generation.

A skilled workbench electrician, Young has always involved hand-built devices and reconstituted consumer electronics in his practice. In 2007, his group Demons rediscovered vintage synthesizers as a means to create electronic compositions and led a resurgence of interest in synthesizer music. Now, as a solo artist and while playing in Stare Case (his blues duo with fellow Wolf Eyes musician John Olson), Young has refined his musical approach: bass, synthesizers, organic electronics and raw unfeigned vocals. Their 2011 LP Lose Today, on De Stijl, received wide praise.

Young's solo LP Regression Vol. 2 Stay Asleep - an unvarnished collection of instrumental works released by NNA Tapes - was released in November, 2011, followed by Regression Vol. 3 Other Days on Tokyo's Rockatansky Records in February 2012, the final volume of this trilogy. 2012 ended with Between Worlds on Italian label Black Moss.

5/31 Austin, TX - Chaos in Tejas

JUNE 25th, 2013
1. Forever Day
2. Beneath the Mist
3. When Nothing Works
4. Worlds Behind
5. Escape with Nothing
6. Only Fallen Heads
7. Between
8. The Bastards Gums