Donovan Blanc Streams Second Single 'Hungry A Long Time' [Listen]

Donovan Blanc Streams Second Single 'Hungry A Long Time' [Listen]

Earlier this month we were happy to announce our newest addition to the Captured Tracks roster, Donovan Blanc, and shared the first taste of their Self-Titled debut (June 24th) with lead single "Minha Menina".

The New Jersey duo of Joseph Black and Raymond Schwab return today with a new sampling of the album with the single "Hungry a Long Time", a melodious track whose jangling guitars give way to dreamy vocal harmonies that roll with rhythmic fluidity. Click the link below to listen.
For those in New York, Donovan Blanc will be playing Baby's All Right on May 11th with R. Stevie Moore and Murals.

Donovan Blanc Tracklisting
01. Girlfriend
02. Hungry a Long Time
03. Shy Boy
04. Without a Thing to Doubt
05. Is It Natural
06. Oh Donna
07. Veronica
08. Can't Wait to Meet You
09. Minha Menina
10. When You Believed Me
11. That Summer Ago
12. Traci Won't Wait

Joseph Black and Raymond Schwab spent the years of 2011-2013 as full-blown pop junkies in a group called Honeydrum. Seeking ephemeral moments of truth and self-relevance, the two spent day after day on the third floor of a brick building in a hole of a city in New Jersey, churning out what would become Honeydrum's nine EPs. These releases stand as sonic manifestations of the two hook addicts' pop addled brainwaves buried deep in blurry mires of fizz and fuzz.

As with all growth both physical and metaphysical, the inevitable mutation of their vision was governed by evolutionary laws beholden to no man; atop a cloud of rich vocal harmony, polished guitar arrangements, driving rhythmic momentum, angular meter and key changes, and breathy Mellotron passages, Donovan Blanc, a post-human entity began to appear. Incubated by the warm winds of spring and with a newfound focus and clarity, early versions of songs such as "Minha Menina" and "Girlfriend", rife with brown tones and muted sunshine, served as the foundation for Donovan Blanc's debut self-titled LP on Captured Tracks.

Donovan Blanc is the realization of a purified version of the duo's work, fit for consumption by disciples of technicolor baroque and singer- songwriter pop music. The record's aim isn't to evoke nostalgia, but rather to re-contextualize the familiar and foreign to create new moments; some that are bold and exuberant, and others that are reserved and melancholic. Donovan Blanc delivers a glimpse of the lush textures and vivid colors of pop's golden age through a modern lens.

Donovan Blanc is out June 24th.