Bastardgeist Album 'Infinite Lives' Announced For August 26th 2013

Bastardgeist Album 'Infinite Lives' Announced For August 26th 2013

Welcome to "Infinite Lives" by Bastardgeist: nine kaleidoscopic tracks built from rhythmic kalimba, dense orchestral arrangements, twinkling micro-melodies, discursive samples, and spacious passages of heavenly falsetto.

Bastardgeist is Chicago-based songwriter and performer Joel Midden. "Infinite Lives" shows off his expanding sonic palette (this time including more electronics, live drums, strings and a horn section) as well as a lyrical maturity that builds on the sensibility of his first self-titled LP. There's a new-found depth in this body of songwriting - some songs feature synths and samples that build, breathe and expand, driven forward by Midden's insistent, adept kalimba chops; on others, the sounds are hammered into the shape of a lurching orchestral beast, made intriguing and beautiful by Midden's frank, sensual falsetto.

The album is available for fans to pre-order on vinyl now (with an immediate download) via this Bandcamp page; then, the vinyl and download will get a wider street-date release via London-based indie label Brainlove Records, on August 26th 2013.

Bastardgeist has just returned from a string of dates in England, including a slot at the annual Brainlove Festival in London. He performs regularly in his hometown of Chicago, and can be seen regularly in the UK and Europe, on prestigious lineups such as Icelandic Airwaves in Reykjavík.

His next US show is on Wednesday June 26th at Quencher's in Chicago, with Lamp. 

Track Listing

1. Shift
2. Coast
3. Helen Hunts
4. Afternoon
5. Last Evening
6. Everyone Everywhere
7. Dragon
8. Notable American Women
9. You Don't Get to Complain