Phoebe Philo won Designer of the Year at last night's (07.12.10) British Fashion Awards.

The young English designer - who was hailed the "Queen of the New Minimalism" - scooped the evening's top prize after beating fellow nominees Christopher Kane and Erdem Moralioglu.

The creative director of Celine, the French ready-to-wear brand, had been credited with turning it into one of the most sought after luxury labels since joining two years ago.

Phoebe's "classic" designs are also a hit with a string of celebrities including Katie Holmes, Victoria Beckham and Kate Bosworth.

Other winners at the award ceremony at London's Savoy Hotel included model Lara Stone - comedian David Walliams' wife - who was crowned Model of the Year.

Lara said she hoped the award would mean people would start recognising her - joking she is often mistaken for her husband's comedy partner Matt Lucas.

She said: "When I walk down the street with my husband, people ask me if I'm Matt Lucas."

TV presenter Alexa Chung received the British Style award while supermodel Naomi Campbell received a Special Recognition trophy for her 25-year career in fashion.

Alexa had earlier refused to have her photo taken at the swanky event, saying: "No, I can't stand next to Claudia Schiffer for a photo - she's too beautiful."

Patrick Grant of E.Tautz, who won Menswear Designer, thanked his staff for sticking by him "despite the miserable Dickensian wages," before adding "And if nothing else, I'll be cycling home tonight."

Mulberry, whose creative director is Emma Hill, took the Designer Brand title, and Burberry received a special award for Digital Innovation.

Winners of the British Fashion Awards 2010:

BFC Outstanding Achievement in Fashion - Alexander McQueen

Accessory Designer - Nicholas Kirkwood

Model Of The Year - Lara Stone

Menswear Designer - E. Tautz

Emerging Talent Award, Ready-to-wear - Meadham Kirchhoff

Emerging Talent Award, Accessories - Husam El Odeh

Special Recognition - Naomi Campbell

Digital Innovation - Burberry

British Style - Alexa Chung

Isabella Blow Award for Fashion Creator - Nicola Formichetti

Designer Brand - Mulberry

Designer Of The Year - Phoebe Philo for Celine