Hip Hop Box Set - Listen To Clips From All 51 Groundbreaking Tracks

Hip Hop Box Set
Get Real Player Get Windows Media Player
Hip Hop Box Set - Listen To Clips From All 51 Groundbreaking Tracks


Twenty-five years after 1979's "Rapper's Delight" broke open the floodgates,hip hop's influence is everywhere--from music to movies, fashion to vocabulary. Now, honoring the past, celebrating the present and anticipating the future, the four-CD The Hip Hop Box (Hip-O Records/UMe), released April 20, 2004, brings together 51 of the genre's greatest turning points, highlights, landmarks and breakthroughs, each digitally remastered.Starring most of hip hop's greatest artists, from the Sugarhill Gang of 1979 to the 50 Cent of 2003, the tracks were culled from dozens of record labels.

For the first time, as journalist Tom Terrell writes in the liner notes, The Hip Hop Box allows fans to "follow the drumbeat from Genesis to Revelation, innocence to hedonism, playfulness to violence, happiness to bitterness, self-hate to self-love." Along with Terrell's historical essay, the box set features notes by Public Enemy's Chuck D and Michael A. Gonzales (co-author of the classic text on

Hip Hop Box Set - Listen To Clips From All 51 Groundbreaking Tracks

rap Bring The Noise), plus an essay by one of the set's compilers, paying tribute to hip hop's reggae heritage. The Hip Hop Box continues the Hip-O Records tradition of genre box sets, including The Funk Box (2000) and The Reggae Box(2001).

Chronologically arranged and so kicking off with hip hop's Big Bang, " Rapper's Delight," Disc One of The Hip Hop Box also offers the first realB-Boy record to sell a million copies, "The Breaks" (Kurtis Blow);the song that drew the line in the sand, "Sucker M.C.'s" (Run-D.M.C.);hip hop's women's emancipation with "Push It" (Salt-n-Pepa) and thebirth of XXX hip hop with "Freaky Tales" (Too $hort). Other classicsinclude "The Body Rock" (Treacherous Three), "Planet Rock" (AfrikaBambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force), "The Message" (Grand MasterFlash & The Furious Five), "Wild Wild
West" (Kool Moe Dee), "Roxanne Roxanne" (UTFO) and "Roxanne's Revenge" (Roxanne Shante).

Disc Two picks up with the incomparable "Follow The Leader" from Eric B. & Rakim; "My Philosophy," one of the first great socially conscious raps, from the Boogie Down Productions of KRS-One; "I'm Your Pusher" from Ice-T, the first L.A. rapper to win national respect; the anthem "Fight The Power" from Public Enemy that punctuated Spike Lee's film Do The Right Thing, and "The Gas Face" from 3rd Bass, the first white rappers to crack the rap Top 5. Also heard are M.C. Hammer, 2 Live Crew, De La Soul, Biz Markie, A Tribe Called Quest, Main Source, and Chubb Rock.

Disc Three busts it with "O.P.P.," one of hip hop's most enduring party starters, from Naughty By Nature; the crossover killer "Summertime" (#1 Rap/R&B/Pop) from DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince; "Tennessee" from Arrested Development, the fountainhead of today's Dirty South; "Slam" from
Onyx, the pioneers of black punk-rap; "C.R.E.A.M." from the Wu-Tang Clan, the Parliament-Funkadelic of hip hop; "Regulate," the quintessential G-Funk track, from Warren G & Nate Dogg, and "Flava In Ya Ear," the beginning of the Bad Boy dynasty from Craig Mack. Tracks from Queen Latifah, Digable Planets, Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, and The Pharcyde join those from DJ Quik, Black Sheep, and Method Man (featuring Mary J. Blige on the "I'll Be There For You/You're All I Need To Get By" Puff Daddy mix).

Disc Four brings home the thug life with hardcore Ruff Ryder DMX and his street version of "Get At Me Dog"; the dirty version of "Gettin' Money (The Get Money Remix)" from Junior M.A.F.I.A. featuring Little Caesar, Little Kim and The Notorious B.I.G.; Noreaga's "Superthug (What, What)," and the RP
remix of "Until The End Of Time" from 2Pac. On the soul tip is "Tha Crossroads," the #1 Rap/R&B/Pop smash from Bone Thugs-n-Harmony. Others heard are Scarface, Redman with Method Man, Busta Rhymes, Timbaland & Magoo, Gang Starr and the only self-contained band in hip hop, The Roots, featuring Jill Scott on the live "You Got Me." The Hip Hop Box enters the new millennium with the love song "The Light" from Common and "21 Questions" from 50 Cent featuring Nate Dogg. Wrapping up the box are two artists who are as responsible for the explosive success of hip hop as any, Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg, with "The Next Episode."

Hip Hop Box Set - Listen To Clips From All 51 Groundbreaking Tracks
Track /Title
Real Player
Windows Media
1.Hip Hop Box Set with 51 groundbreaking tracks

Disc One
01 Sugarhill Gang Rapper's Delight short 12ð version
02 Kurtis Blow The Breaks extended version
03 Treacherous Three The Body Rock
04 Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force Planet Rock
05 Grand Master Flash & The Furious Five featuring Melle Mel & Duke Bootee The Message
06 Run-D.M.C. Sucker M.C.'s (Krush-Groove 1)
07 UTFO Roxanne Roxanne
08 Roxanne Shante Roxanne's Revenge
09 Salt-n-Pepa Push It
10 Too $hort Freaky Tales
11 Kool Moe Dee Wild Wild West

Disc Two
01 Eric B. & Rakim Follow The Leader
02 Boogie Down Productions My Philosophy 12ð version
03 Ice-T I'm Your Pusher
04 M.C. Hammer Turn This Mutha Out
05 Public Enemy Fight The Power soundtrack version
06 The 2 Live Crew Me So Horny
07 Biz Markie Just A Friend
08 De La Soul (Featuring Jungle Brothers, Q-Tip, Phife, Queen Latifah & Monie Love) Buddy native tongue decision version
09 3rd Bass The Gas Face
10 A Tribe Called Quest I Left My Wallet In El Segundo
11 Main Source Looking At The Front Door
12 Chubb Rock Treat 'Em Right

Disc Three
01 Naughty By Nature O.P.P.
02 DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince Summertime
03 DJ Quik Tonite
04 Black Sheep The Choice Is Yours (Revisited)
05 Arrested Development Tennessee
06 Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)
07 Digable Planets Rebirth Of Slick (Cool Like Dat)
08 The Pharcyde Passin' Me By
09 Onyx Slam
10 Queen Latifah U.N.I.T.Y.
11 Wu-Tang Clan C.R.E.A.M.

Disc Four
01 Redman/Method Man How High remix
02 Junior M.A.F.I.A. featuring Little Caesar, Little Kim And The Notorious B.I.G. Gettin' Money (The Get Money Remix) dirty version
03 Bone Thugs-n-Harmony Tha Crossroads
04 Scarface featuring 2Pac & Johnny P Smile
05 Busta Rhymes Put Your Hands Where My Eyes Could See
06 Timbaland & Magoo Luv 2 Luv U remix
07 Gang Starr You Know My Steez
08 DMX (featuring Sheek of The Lox) Get At Me Dog street version
09 Noreaga Superthug (What, What)
10 The Roots featuring Jill Scott You Got Me live
11 Common The Light
12 2Pac Until The End Of Time rp remix
13 50 Cent featuring Nate Dogg 21 Questions
14 Dr. Dre featuring Snoop Dogg The Next Episode
15 Warren G & Nate Dogg Regulate
16 Craig Mack Flava In Ya Ear
17 Method Man featuring Mary J. Blige
I'll Be There For You / You're All I Need To Get By puff daddy mix

check the site: http://www.hiphopboxset.com


                musicians & bands in the news
                  actors & filmmakers in the news
                    celebrities in the news

                      Go Back in Time using our News archive to see what happened on a particular day in the past.