Veteran rock star Ozzy Osbourne triumphed at last night's Mojo awards, being crowned icon of the year at The Music prize ceremony.

Fellow rocker Alice Cooper joined the Black Sabbath vocalist in the line up of winners after being honoured as a hero at the annual awards, which are voted for by readers of Mojo magazine.

Commenting on Osbourne's success, Mojo editor-in-chief Phil Alexander exclaimed: "There are icons and there is Ozzy Osbourne. Long may he continue to reign."

Meanwhile new kid on the block Amy Winehouse won song of the year for her hit single, Rehab.

The soul songstress missed out on the prize for best album, which was taken by The Good, the Bad and the Queen  the first offering from the new band formed by former Blur and Gorillaz frontman Damon Albarn.

Winehouse was also nominated for best live act, but lost out again to the Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire.

Another newcomer, one-man band Seasick Steve received the award for best breakthrough act.

The award for maverick act went to post-punk group Echo and the Bunnymen, while American band The Stooges picked up the lifetime achievement prize after being recognised as the "godfathers of punk".

Relatives of the late Bob Marley picked up the classic album award on behalf of the late reggae legend, who was praised for Exodus, while American rock band The Doors were granted entry into the illustrious Mojo hall of fame.

19/06/2007 06:24:09