Night Moves Announce Debut Album 'Colored Emotions' Out On March 18th 2013

Night Moves Announce Debut Album 'Colored Emotions' Out On March 18th 2013

Night Moves are set to release their debut album Colored Emotions in the UK and Europe

on March 18th on Domino. After building up a fervent local following in their home of Minneapolis, Colored Emotions was released in the US in October 2012 and now, the band's bringing it to Europe.

Forthcoming single "Country Queen" is also released on March 18th and while starting out gently, soon soars into its anthemic, stomping conclusion. 

Effortlessly blending bluesy, wholesome Americana with bursts of psychedelia against atmospheric soundscapes, it's unsurprising that the band worked with producer/mixer Thom Monahan (Vetiver, Beachwood Sparks, Devendra Banhart) to tighten and brighten the album. However, it's the album's apparent maturity that separates it from many debut releases.

The core members of Night Moves, guitarist/lead vocalist John Pelant, bassist Micky Alfano and multi-instrumentalist Mark Ritsema, grew up together in the Twin Cities area of Minnesota and spent their younger years rotating in and out of one another's musical orbits. After a couple of promising false starts, the trio re-coalesced in 2009 in earnest as Night Moves and began recording. Since then, the band has been joined by drummer Jared Isabella completing their live set-up.

The US 7" release of album opener "Headlights" was described by Pitchfork as a "... knockout single... a psychedelic country gem awash in vocalist John Pelant's golden yowl."  


1.     Headlights

2.     Country Queen

3.     In The Rounds

4.     Only A Child

5.     Family Tongues

6.     Old Friends

7.     Put Out Your Shoulder

8.     Horses

9.     Classical Hearts

10.  Colored Emotions