Nicole Richie will host the 10th annual Style Awards.

The socialite will host the awards show which will also be aired for the first time on news channel CNN in the US when it kicks off Mercedes-Benz New York Fashion Week on September 14.

Ten awards will be handed out at the event, with Zac Posen, Kate Upton, Victor Cruz, Frederic Fekkai, Patrick DeMarchelier, Rachel Zoe, John Varvatos, Trish Summerville, Janie Bryant and Victoria's Secret all to be honoured.

The trophies will be designed by jewellery company Tiffany & Co. and singer Ariana Grande will give a special performance at the event.

Jay Penske, whose media company owns the Style Awards, said: ''Building on the tremendous success of last year's show, we're excited to announce our media and style partner for 2013 and look forward to an outstanding program.''

Stephanie Winston Wolkoff, President and Executive Producer of the Style Awards added: ''We are extremely excited to honour and celebrate the incredible talent at this year's show. We have truly merged the worlds of fashion and entertainment.''

Categories to be awarded at the show include Designer of the Year, Model of the Year, Most Stylish Athlete of the Year, Hairstylist of the Year, Costume Designer of the Year in Film and TV categories, Celebrity Stylist of the Year, Menswear Designer of the Year and Most Visible Brand.