The pop star has failed to qualify for Saturday's (14May16) showdown in Sweden after missing out on a top 10 place in the semi-final round.

He was one of 18 acts competing for the last 10 places on Thursday night (12May16).

Ireland remains the most successful country in the contest's 61-year history, with a total of seven wins, but the country will not feature at this year's final.

The U.K., France, Germany, Italy and Spain automatically advance to the grand final, where those nations will be joined by Latvia, Georgia, Bulgaria, Australia, Ukraine, Serbia, Poland, Israel, Lithuania, and Belgium, who all qualified on Thursday, and Azerbaijan, Russia, The Netherlands, Hungary, Croatia, Malta, Austria, Armenia, Czech Republic, and Cyprus who all made it through the first semi-final round on Tuesday (10May16).

After Thursday night's semi-final, an emotional Byrne thanked his fans on Twitter, writing: "Amazing time amazing support, I gave it my all, I'm sorry I didn't get us there. I pass on the torch to someone else now next year."