CAPOTE was given a last-minute Oscars boost at the Independent Spirit Awards in Santa Monica, California yesterday (04MAR06) when the biopic claimed three of five honours, including a Best Actor prize for Philip Seymour Hoffman. The film also claimed the Best Screenplay award and new mum Caroline Baron took home the event's Producers Award. Meanwhile, CRASH, TRANSAMERICA and Brokeback Mountain picked up two awards each - the latter claimed the Best Feature prize. The irreverent anti-Oscars was hosted by provocative comedienne Sarah Silverman, who shocked guests and the live TV audience with quips about feminine hygiene and sex. The full list of winners is: Best Supporting Female - Amy Adams (JUNEBUG) Best First Screenplay - DUNCAN TUCKER (TRANSAMERICA) Best Supporting Male - Matt Dillon (CRASH) Best Screenplay - Dan Futterman (CAPOTE) Best Foreign Film - Paradise Now Best Documentary - ENRON: THE SMARTEST GUYS IN THE ROOM Best First Feature - Paul Haggis (CRASH) Truer Than Fiction Award - GARRETT SCOTT + IAN OLDS (OCCUPATION: DREAMLAND) Someone To Watch Award - IAN GAMAZON + NEILL DELA LLANA (corr) (CAVITE) Producers Award - CAROLINE BARON (CAPOTE + Monsoon Wedding) Best Female Lead - Felicity Huffman (TRANSAMERICA) Best Cinematography - ROBERT ELSWIT (GOOD NIGHT, AND GOOD LUCK) The John Cassavetes Award - CONVENTIONEERS Best Director - Ang Lee (BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN) Best Male Lead - PHILIP SEYMOUR HOFFMAN (CAPOTE) Best Feature - BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN.