Top wardrobe official Sandy Powell is a double nominee with nods for the categories of Excellence in Period Film for Carol, and Excellence in Fantasy Film for Cinderella, both of which starred Cate Blanchett.

Brooklyn's Odile DICks-Mireaux, Kate Hawley from Crimson Peak, Paco Delgado from The Danish Girl, and Trumbo's Daniel Orlandi will compete against Powell for the Period Film prize, while the other Fantasy Film nods go to Sammy Sheldon Differ for Ex MAChina, Kurt and Bart for The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Part 2, Star Wars: The Force Awakens' Michael Kaplan, and Jenny Beavan for Mad Max: Fury Road.

Jenny Eagan (Beasts of No Nation), Michael Wilkinson (Joy), Arianne Phillips (Kingsman: The Secret Service), Janty Yates (The Martian), and Carlo Poggioli (Youth) are shortlisted for Excellence in Contemporary Film.

In the TV categories, American Horror Story: Hotel's Lou Eyrich will face off for Outstanding Contemporary Television Series with the likes of Rita MCGhee (Empire) and Johanna Argan and Kemal Harris (House of Cards), while the Outstanding Period Television Series contenders include The Knick's Ellen Mirojnick, and Mad Men's Janie Bryant and Tiffany White Stanton, and the Outstanding Fantasy Television Series award will be chosen from nominees such as Game of Thrones' Michele Clapton, and Once Upon a Time's Eduardo Castro.

The winners will be revealed during a ceremony at Los Angeles' Beverly Hilton Hotel on 23 February (16).

Cate Blanchett will receive the CDGA's Lacoste Spotlight Award, which is presented to an actor "whose talent and career personify an enduring commitment to excellence, including a special awareness of the role and importance of costume design".