Former members of Lostprophets have started a new band together.

The remaining musicians - Lee Gaze, Mike Lewis, Stuart Richardson, Jamie Oliver and Luke Johnson - are working on a new project with former Thursday frontman Jeff Rickly following the conviction of frontman Ian Watkins on child sex charges.

Jeff told Radio Cardiff: ''I think if ever there was a group of people that needed a second chance, it's those guys - and they're going to take full advantage of it.

''People don't really think of what happens to the other members. That took away their life. What happened is just devastating for them.''

Although Jeff hasn't spoken about joining the musicians himself, he is working with them via his label, Collect Records.

He continued: ''It's been my honour to work with them on their new band from a label perspective. People are not going to know what hit them when the new band comes out. ''It's like everything I grew up on - a little bit of New Order, a little bit of Joy Division, little bit of The Cure. It's just so forward-thinking.''

Meanwhile, Ian, who was given a 29-year jail sentence in December after pleading guilty to 13 sexual offences, including the attempted rape of a baby, has applied for permission to appeal against the length of his jail term.