Celebrated pianist Keith Jarrett and saxophonist Anthony Braxton are set to receive America's prestigious Jazz Masters Award.

The pair will be joined by bassist Richard Davis and educator Jamey Aebersold as the 2014 winners of the National Endowment for the Arts prize, the nation's highest jazz accolade.

The honourees will be feted at a ceremony in January (14) and will each be awarded fellowships worth $25,000 (£16,129).

The class of 2013 featured musicians Eddie Palmieri, Mose Allison and Lou Donaldson and New York's Village Vanguard Jazz club owner Lorraine Gordon.